Are any property owners exempt from paying property tax?

The following categories of land are exempt from the payment of Property Tax:

  • Buildings exclusively used for religious worship, churches yards, burial grounds and Rectories,
  • Educational institutions and properties owned by the Council of Legal Education,
  • Government-owned lands,
  • Lands owned by the Local Authorities,
  • Hospitals, and
  • Lands owned by charitable or cultural organisations approved by the Minister and used solely for the purposes of such organisations.